Helmsley Walled Garden

Helmsley Walled Garden

Helmsley Walled Garden
4.5
10:00 – 17:00
Quarta-feira
10:00 - 17:00
Quinta-feira
10:00 - 17:00
Sexta-feira
10:00 - 17:00
Sábado
10:00 - 17:00
Domingo
10:00 - 17:00
Sobre
Duração recomendada
2-3 horas
Recomende alterações para melhorar nosso conteúdo.
Aprimorar este perfil
O que é o Travellers’ Choice?
O Tripadvisor oferece o prêmio Travellers’ Choice a acomodações, atrações e restaurantes que sempre recebem ótimas avaliações e estão entre 10% dos melhores estabelecimentos no Tripadvisor.

4.5
599 avaliações
Excelente
341
Muito boa
158
Razoável
59
Ruim
27
Horrível
14

Stu151
Wickford, UK1.194 contribuições
Excellent Small Garden
out de 2021
Really interesting small garden.

Run as a social enterprise by (mostly) volunteers.

Well laid out and looked after (even in late Autumn).

Nice cafe/great (home cooked) food
Feita em 2 de novembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Stu, how lovely is this? Short, succinct and totally to the point, thank you so much. Thank you particularly for your thoughts on being well laid out and cared for in late autumn. This is the first time we have opened up till Christmas and we want everyone to enjoy the garden and see how much colour is still around. It is also the time for moving plants around, lifting and dividing and I still feel a thrill when I walk round and se a patch of tilled earth and new plants in their position for next year. You're bang on with how much work is done by our volunteers. They do pretty much everything from garden maintenance and development to general DIY maintenance to running the kiosk and staffing the shop. They are marvellous. I really hope you'll be able to visit again in another season to see how the garden has developed. I'll pass your comments on to Sam and Mollie in The Vine House Café. It's a sperate business and they work incredibly hard to make gorgeous food for their customers. My personal downfall is their cheese scones but that's enough about me! Thanks for your visit and for your support. Your admission charge goes to helping us continue to develop and maintain the garden and its buildings and to provide therapeutic horticultural and a beautiful, tranquil space for everyone to enjoy and feel the beauty of nature. With all best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 14 de novembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

Yupyup22
22 contribuições
Beautiful surroundings for lunch
out de 2021 • A sós
Beautifully kept gardens but main review is the food. Delicious! Highly recommend the cake. Lovely location for a lunch
Feita em 13 de outubro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Glad you enjoyed both the garden and lunch. The Vine House Café is managed separately to the garden but I will be passing your compliments on. And yes, I would recommend the cake too. Hope you will be able to visit again soon. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 16 de outubro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

RAN
Stockport, UK17 contribuições
Delightful! And wheelchair friendly too!
set de 2021
A lovely garden, with Helmsley Castle as the back-drop - perfect!
The flowers beds were brimming with flowers and wildlife (bees etc). We particularly enjoyed that dahlia display.
The path was level, and the surface was compact, so pushing a wheelchair was relatively easy, and the garden map helped.
The garden staff / volunteers were clearly enthusiastic about the garden, their work, and the visitor experience, so thank you for a lovely morning stroll around the garden.
Feita em 29 de setembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and for your very kind words. The dahlias are my pride and joy so I am very glad that they caught your eye. Thanks also for talking about the accessibility of the garden. We have tried to make the whole place as accessible as possible. We remodelled our garden shop a couple of years ago and to my combined shame (that we hadn't done anything sooner) and pride (that we had finally done something) a visitor said that the shop was now fully accessible by wheelchair users. Making changes always has a cost implication but some things are so simple as changing the shelving. It's something I need to keep constantly in mind and I am happy for you to suggest things that may make visiting in a wheelchair even better. I may not be able to make them all happen (or at least not quickly), but we are looking at the renovation of all our buildings in the coming 5-7 years and any suggestions would be most welcome. Everyone here is passionate about the garden, it means something special to everyone, and for more reasons than you could shake a stick at. Thank you for exploring and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope you'll b able to come back soon. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 30 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

Gillylangly
2 contribuições
Perfect on sunny day
set de 2021
Beautiful flora and fauna and ideal for relaxing day out in stunning market town. Take some comfy shoes so you can spend all day looking around.
Feita em 23 de setembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Ah Gillian, wise words for all those that have not yet visited. Personally, I wear comfy shoes every day but then a) I walk round the garden a lot; it's five acres and one can quickly rack up a decent distance, and b) I garden when ever the weather and my office schedule allow. Truthfully, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and took the time to review us. I'm well aware that no one has to do this. Thank you for your kindness, for visiting and supporting us and for just being an all-round good egg. I do hope that you will be able to visit again. We will be open through to December this year and then reopen in early march. The garden wears different clothes for different seasons and it is a beautiful place year round. Thank you again for your visit. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 30 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

louiseholistic
Penarth, UK797 contribuições
Gorgeous
set de 2021 • Casais
We thoroughly enjoyed a couple of hours here one sunny September afternoon. Delightful gardens below the castle ruins. Something of interest around every corner and some very striking planting combinations. Lots of autumn colour to enjoy. Well worth a visit and we look forward to returning at a different time of the year to see what else is in flower.
Feita em 18 de setembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Louise, Thanks for your kind and thoughtful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and the autumn colour. I think we may have met in the shop after you had ben round the garden. Do come again to see how the garden clothes itself in different seasons. This year, we will be open until December 24th so it will be a chance to see the bones of the garden for the first time. We are working on extending the range of colour at either end of the season. But the winter beauty of a well-planned garden is always worth a visit. A garden designer I know tells me that a garden should always be planned for winter as summer will look after itself. Personally, I'm not quite that brave and feel the need to think about summer too but it is sound advice. Look forward to you visiting again. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 22 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

Houseleek
North Yorkshire, UK4 contribuições
Excellent day out , lovely lovely garden .
set de 2021
The gardens were glorious in the sunshine ,the dahlias and sunflowers were especially spectacular. I should imagine there would always be something interesting to see or ideas to take away for any body with an interest in gardening what ever the season . Shop contains plants , produce to buy as a donation , interesting books and gift items .
The staff were very helpful and friendly , we really enjoyed ourselves . Couldn’t recommend more highly .
Feita em 16 de setembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh Houseleek, hat a thoughtful and generous review, thank you so much. I know what you mean about planting ideas, I often find myself noticing a particular plant combination and thinking that would work in my garden. Few of us have double herbaceous borders 100m long, and thank goodness we don't because I can tell you it takes a lot of work: but despite its size, its not overwhelming. I'm glad you enjoyed the garden, the plants and the shop and I hope you'll be able to visit again sometime soon. Thank you again. With all best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 18 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

Cathreb
18 contribuições
Well worth a visit
ago de 2021
Beautiful garden in a lovely setting. The backdrop of the castle really made it. Spent a lovely couple of hours here on a beautiful sunny day. Great cafe too!
Feita em 12 de setembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Cath, Thank you for your kind and very succinct review. The garden, the café and the castle all praised in less than two lines. Brilliant stuff. Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to review us, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope you'll be able to visit again sometime soon. Thank you again. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 18 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

JeffB64CPR
Derby, UK244 contribuições
Very pleasant garden in a very busy town
ago de 2021
The garden had the appearance of a site that had suffered a little due to the pandemic, with some gaps in borders etc, but was still a very worthwhile visit. The setting, with the backdrop of the Castle, is picturesque; there are some very lovely areas in the garden, notably the entrance area adjacent to the cafe, and the cut-flower area. Definitely one to come to again. Cafe food very good - lovely cake!
Feita em 8 de setembro de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Jeff, Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to review us. We do have some gaps in the borders it is fair to say as we are in the middle of a massive overhaul of many areas which (as you so rightly surmised) took a pasting when we were locked down and unable to come to work. The garden is maintained almost entirely by volunteers who are tireless in their efforts to keep the garden beautiful. We are still playing a little bit of catch up as far as the planting goes as we don't have a bottomless plant buying budget, more's the pity. But thanks to you and all our lovely visitors, we will have more money to spend on plants. We are almost entirely funded by the revenue raised by visitor admissions and if I tell you it costs £11,000 a month just to stand still, you get some idea of how much we have to raise to keep ourselves in business. I really hope you will be able to visit again to see the progress we are making. We are working on extending the seasonal colour at either end of the year, brining the Long Border back into its full glory and (what I will be doing next), creating a wild flower area at the bottom of the garden to showcase some of Britain's beautiful wild flowers. In the meantime, thank you again. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 18 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

GreenerHaze
Leeds, UK49 contribuições
Lovely garden
ago de 2021 • Família
Absolutely beautiful garden in a very picturesque setting. My young kids had a great time running around as well. There were plenty of benches to sit and just be peaceful as well. I highly recommend visiting this garden.
Feita em 28 de agosto de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you, thank you, thank you. It is not often we get reviews from visitors with young children and it is great to know that they enjoyed themselves as much as you. We really appreciate your recommendation. I hope you'll be able to return until the children are bored teenagers who don't want to be out with their parents! We've all been in both scenarios. Your visit helps to keep us going and we hope you get some time for a quiet moment or two of contemplation in the hurly burly of life right now. With very best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Feita em 18 de setembro de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

elaine h
1 contribuição
Don't waste your money
ago de 2021 • Casais
We paid £16 to basically look at disheveled beds with loads of gaps and weeds,disappointing varieties of plants.to think we were charged for this only to be then guided to the tea room which is obviously where they prefer to be making the money.please please don't waste your money ,our garden at home would put them to shame.
Feita em 18 de agosto de 2021
Esta avaliação representa a opinião subjetiva de um membro do Tripadvisor, e não da TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thanks for your review and for letting us know how unhappy you were with your visit. I wish you had spoken to someone at the time as I could have spoken with you and addressed your concerns. That said, I am somewhat baffled and saddened by your review and with respect, would refute every word. The garden is not dishevelled or empty and our palette of plants is anything but boring. The Hot Border is in full bloom, the Long Border has gaps awaiting planting, as does the Secret Garden but they are both tidy and blooming. The only border I would say is in need of work is the one I am currently working on which is the wild flower border. Planted earlier this year, I am working my way through the wild flowers we don't want to allow the ones we do want to spread. This is painstaking work and I freely admit to not making the progress I would like as quickly as I would like. Our garden provides therapeutic horticulture opportunities for all our volunteers and they work incredibly hard to make the garden the stunning place it is. I simply don't recognise the garden you are describing as the one I am looking at right now. We don't make money from The Vine House Café which is a separate business. We work closely with them and hope that everyone will enjoy both the garden and the café. Finally, everyone who visits, helps to support the garden. We are a charity, looking after and developing the walled garden and providing therapeutic horticulture for all. We thank all our visitors for supporting us and hope they will benefit from taking time out of the busyness of life to relax in the tranquillity of the garden. I'm sorry you felt you wasted your money, I can assure you it will be put to good use in supporting all the work we do. With all best wishes, Tricia Harris, ,marketing and communications manager
Feita em 19 de agosto de 2021
Esta resposta representa a opinião subjetiva de um representante da gerência e não da TripAdvisor LLC.

Mostrando 110 de 599 resultados
Algo errado ou faltando?
Recomende alterações para melhorar nosso conteúdo.
Aprimorar este perfil